Will You Be My Rafaelo?

February 12, 2009

It is Valentine’s Day, and me being me, I could not NOT cook, bake, or otherwise play with ingredients in some way to commemorate this holiday, which speaks to my deepest motivations when it comes to food.

As it goes, I also might confess that I have quite a crush on this fellow named R, who I talked with until 6 a.m. in that baroque East Village cafe a few weeks back as if we had known each other for years, eating and drinking over a hundred dollars of food and wine before the night was through.

As R and I were chatting this week, he casually pointed out these fluffy little things online called Rafaelo. Being the curious type, I confirmed if he likes coconut (he does), so I fancied myself a confectioner for a change and spent a night packing these fluffy balls of coconut snow.

They were delightful! I made a large batch. I brought the majority to work and had a parade of people stop by my desk with praise. My boss told me that he saw the recipe on the printer at least five times throughout the day.

A select batch of the finest Rafaelo were sent to R for delivery today accompanied a note that simply said, “I had to.”

I didn’t take any pictures of the process, but I do have one lone Rafaelo remaining here at work, taunting me to eat it and go about my afternoon. I hope dear Palachinka doesn’t mind that I am borrowing her picture, below, for comparison purposes.

Palachinka’s Rafaelo

rafaelo

My Rafaelo, taken on my iPhone, which completely lacks the ability to capture things up close.

rafaelo-at-work1

You’ll have to go along with me when I say they were adorable.

6 Responses to “Will You Be My Rafaelo?”

  1. Angelique Says:

    Uh oh, I’m breaking my rule by commenting (at this time) to your entry. Ah well, it’s Friday! These loosely remind me of the chocolate covered coconut balls my grandma used to make, mashed potatoes were in the filling. Anyway, I’m sure R will appreciate receiving these from you (and I want one too!).

  2. Marija Says:

    :)) Glad you made them! And hope R likes them!

  3. Carrie Says:

    Ang – Mashed potatoes? Wow. Unfortunately they are all gone, but I hope to whip up a batch of something for tomorrow night’s party.

    Marija – So glad you saw the post! One thing I couldn’t explain is that the coconut wouldn’t stick to the balls, so I dunked them in egg white first. Do you not have this problem? (Also, do you have a chocolate/raspberry dessert to recommend for a friend’s 40th birthday tomorrow?)

  4. Marija Says:

    Hmmm, I really don’t know about the coconut. I’ve never had that problem.

    And for the birthday, this looks divine to me. I haven’t made this one, but I’ve made a lot of Bea’s recipes and they were all fantastic!


  5. Those look really good! I want to try a few of them! Ihave never even heard of them before reading your blog!

  6. Jamie Says:

    Carrie – you are so adorable. Can’t wait to hear the update.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

