Cheeky Monkey Is Coming. Let’s Invite Cafe Boy.

I always like how looking at my own blog statistics can feel like a sneaky affair. It’s like finding a shopping list, reading PostSecret, or following your friend unbidden on Twitter. It’s a mundane, sometimes compelling look at what people are craving and hoping to accomplish. Blog stats are like brain snapshots. Little electronic Polaroids of your brainwaves.cheeky monkey

The terms that have led people here are telling me that someone is earnestly looking for “Cafe Boy,” and has reached out to Google him more than a few times. Believe me, I understand. I have been looking for Cafe Boy myself, and many times losing him in one place, find him in another (only to lose him yet again). He’s elusive, but you can be pretty sure he has scruffy brown hair, a book in one hand, and a slight air of poetic sophistication that might be easily confused with Library Boy. Cafe Boy is usually alone and looks as though he would like nothing other than to talk to me. (Yes, me.) Please let me know if you find him.

It’s also obvious that a lot of people are looking for information about the soon-to-be-open Cheeky Monkey Deli in St. Paul. When I first saw the signs on the windows of the old Zander’s space, I stopped by Solo Vino to ask for more information. Last time, it was planned to open by the end of October. This week, I was told it would open by the end of the month. Peering in the windows at the empty space made me wonder if there would be another four-month extension, but we can hope for the best. From what I’ve heard, it’s a truly independent affair owned by none other than the proprietor himself, and wine will flow freely from store to store. I’m thrilled that the neighborhood will have a casual place to grab a bite of good food to eat. As it is, we only have the co-op, which I frequent, but usually to eat the same few things each time.

In the meantime, let’s bide our time with more entertaining brain snapshots from my stats. Care to imagine what these other people are looking for?

“Take a girl out for New Years.” A girl was daydreaming about the perfect New Years celebration her lazy boyfriend might orchestrate for her because she didn’t want to do it herself. This is a little passive-agressive if you ask me.

“Bean French tete.” Tête-à-tête? This person would like to have an intimate conversation over French lentil soup, or maybe haricot verts. In either case, I could be enlisted for that one.

“Guess what edible item is in the brownie.” I don’t know, but it doesn’t sound like a game I want to play!

“Petite Lolita in gynecological visit.” Do I want to know what this one is about? I am hoping that a woman left her pocket edition of Lolita at the doctor’s office. Indeed.

16 thoughts on “Cheeky Monkey Is Coming. Let’s Invite Cafe Boy.

  1. Stefanie

    I would rather play “Guess what edible item is in the brownie” than “Guess what INedible item is in the brownie”!

    I love looking at blog stats. So many people pouring out questions to the universe. Google is the new Magic 8 ball, after all, and it’s at least as helpful and accurate.

  2. Carrie Post author

    Stef – I assumed that the phrase “guess what edible item is in the brownie” inferred that everything around it was INedible. You’ve had some wacky blog stats, as well. I love seeing what you come up with.

  3. Carrie Post author

    Lisa – No, the owners of the two shops are not the same. Solo Vino just happens to have the gossip because they are next door, and because the stores will compliment each other so well. Solo Vino is definitely a great store.

  4. Carrie Post author

    Possum – I lived in NYC, but as a poor graduate student, and I’m too far out of the loop to say much about the restaurants. I can’t even remember the one I adored tucked away in the corner of the West Village. I did love going to Balthazar, and I just recently wrote a post on Bar 89. Thanks for commenting.

  5. Elisabeth

    This is one of the funniest food blog posts I have read in a long, long time. Thanks for the laugh!

    Oh, and I cannot wait for Cheeky Monkey…although they sure seem to be taking their sweet time over there.

  6. Carrie Post author

    Elisabeth – I had quite the laugh when I brought them together. It’s a wonder what people are up to online. (Re: the deli, maybe good things come to those who wait, i.e., us.)

  7. Ella

    If Solo Vino’s owner isn’t the owner of Cheeky Monkey, what does this mean:

    “From what I’ve heard, it’s a truly independent affair owned by none other than the proprietor himself, and wine will flow freely from store to store.”

    Doesn’t owner equal proprietor?

  8. Carrie Post author

    Ella – Just a vague use of modifying pronouns on my part! The people at Solo Vino have answered my questions about “the proprietor” of the deli. They told me his name, but who knows where I wrote it down. The stores and owners are separate, linked up only by a common window in the dividing wall and complimentary food and drink.

  9. Cindy

    I had the opportunity to try out Cheeky Monkey last night on an invited only guests and the food is great. The owners are partners in another business (service related) and because they own the building, decided to try their hand at opening a restaurant. They do have restaurant experienced employees working for them and so there shouldn’t be issues for customers to worry about. The food is made fresh on site including all the sauces (you have to try the potato chips and the macaroons). I had the meatloaf sandwich and my husband had the pot roast sandwich and we both loved them.

    I highly recommend going there. I know I will go back. They open officially for lunch and evenings on Wednesday, February 11, 2009.

  10. Carrie Post author

    Thanks for the update, Cindy. It sounds like I’ll have to make a trip to the deli this weekend.

  11. Pingback: LEDs at The Cheeky Monkey, Veggie Canadian Bacon, and More « Easier Being Green

  12. Jenn

    Sorry about that last comment – I didn’t mean to spam you with an excerpt from my own blog! (Please feel free to delete it if you get a chance.)

    What I had meant to say was, I think Cheeky Monkey is delicious. To echo Cindy’s comment, the staff seemed to be very experienced (one server even works at Bon Vie across the street during the mornings). I’m excited to have it in the neighborhood!

  13. Carrie Post author

    Chicken Coop – Just checked my feed, and I didn’t have a problem. Please check again!

Leave a Reply

